Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



So. An update. Yeah.

2003-08-31 - 9:53 a.m.

Disclaimer

There has been an unbelievable amount of nothing much happening around here. Which is ok, a little boredom is a nice break from all stress I�m usually dealing with, but it makes for hellishly boring diary entries:

Dear Diary,

Today I... uh... just what the hell DID I do all day, anyway? Oh, yeah, I stayed in the same clothes I slept in, played on the computer all day, took two naps and masturbated to pictures of boobies. I finally took a shower around 6 and then made chili for dinner. The Prince came home at 7:30 and we nodded to each cordially before he got on the X-Box and I got back on the computer. At 10 p.m. we watched the Daily Show and fell asleep, him on the couch and me in the recliner. I am writing this at 2 a.m. because apparently my body does not appreciate my attempts to treat it to more than 12 hours of sleep per day. I now have raging insomnia and a splitting headache. Also, my coffee tastes like bug spray... who have I pissed off lately? Maybe the funny taste could have something to do with the fact that it�s going on the third day for this particular pot. I really need to clean the kitchen.

So, yeah, it�s been pretty quiet around here. As for the Grand To-Do list, well, I�m not making as much progress as I�d like... but you KNEW that, didn�t you?

I did finally get the living room cleaned up, and my exercise corner cleaned out. Then I steam cleaned the carpets which has been on my To Do list for a LONG time, but I couldn�t do until just now owing to the minor detail that I haven�t been able to see the floor until just now. In the process of cleaning up the living room, I found the Prince�s much-bemoaned lost wedding ring under the couch and became his new hero. I�ve gotten my bills notebook re-organized, read a few books, done a shamefully tiny amount of work on learning the Illustrator program, exercised twice, and been just a mite too proud of myself for managing to get a shower at least every other day. Sound pretty productive, doesn�t it? Unless you note the fact that this is ALL I�ve done in two weeks� time. But I�m going to get busy ANY DAY now, I swear.

In other news, my school is seriously pissing me off. I applied for financial aid months ago, knowing full well I�m not eligible for anything other than student loans, and not the good kind either. So I�ve been waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting (x infinity) for word from the college, advising me that they regret to inform me I get no free money, but here is how to go about applying for the handy dandy all-purpose student loan.

But by the first week of August I had heard nothing, and was starting to get a little antsy because my fees were due August 22. So I went down to the FA office and was told by the gum-popping, cell-phone-talking, belly-pierced adolescent troll behind the counter to basically go away and wait for a letter from the school. Strangely unsatisfied by that answer, I stopped back at the FA office a couple of days later and spoke to a real person, who, while not brilliant, at least was over the age of thirty and managed to refrain from visibly rolling her eyes at me when I asked my question.

She actually looked in the computer and was able to inform me that indeed, I was ineligible for aid, and then stood there silently blinking at me. The rest of the conversation was like trying to wring a drop of blood from a turnip:

�Uh... so what about student loans?� I asked.

�Yes, you should be able to get student loans.� More silent blinking.

�So don�t I need to, like, APPLY for the loans or something?�

�Yes.� A cricket chirps in the distance. My left eye begins to twitch.

�And just how do I go about this? Look, lady, I�ve never done this before. Could you PLEASE give me an overview of the process? It�s two weeks until my fees are due and I haven�t heard a thing from your office about the process of getting loans!�

�Well... you�ll get a letter from the school that will let you know you�ve been denied financial aid, and it will tell you what to do from there to get your loans. You�ll have to fill out an application.�

�Like, at a bank? And should I be contacting them now?�

�No, I think you fill out the application here at the FA office, AFTER you get your letter from us.�

�So when will the letter be sent out?�

�Well, that�s the problem. They should have been sent out by now, but our software is down. We�re not sure when they will go out. Should be soon. We hope.�

�So is there anything I should do in the meantime to facilitate the process?� I asked.

�Oh sure!� she said brightly. �You can fill out this student loan entrance counseling form online. You have to have it done in order to get your loans.�

I snatched up the form, thanked her much more politely than she deserved, and left.

This all happened at the beginning of August, and I have yet to receive a letter or hear a single word about my loans. A couple of weeks ago I called and spoke to yet another financial aid troll and ranted about the impending deadline for my fees. She basically said to just keep waiting for the letter.

�But what am I supposed to do about the August 22 deadline?� I wailed.

�Oh!� she said brightly. �I can give you an extension until October 22.�

Does it really have to be this fucking hard?

To add more joy to my school daze, it looks like the one class I�ve really been looking forward to, the ComArt class, will be canceled due to lack of enrollment. I could possibly pick up another session of the class, but it looks like the instructor I wanted already has a pretty full schedule, and if I can�t take it with him this quarter, I�d rather wait and take it another quarter when he teaches it again.

And speaking of choosing classes based on the instructor... once again I have been screwed by last-minute schedule changes by the school. I carefully avoided taking any more classes taught by the Paper guy. He�s a nice enough guy but I REALLY didn�t enjoy his teaching style... he�s the one who rambled on and on and on and made note-taking a nightmare, remember? Well, guess who has been assigned to teach my Process Color class? Just fucking guess. I can't drop the class, because it's a pre-req for most of the other graphic arts classes I need to take. And there is no real way to rearrange my schedule at this point without interfering with the other classes that I need to take this quarter. So I�m stuck with the Ramblin� Man, I guess.

So that�s it for me for now. Time to go clean or read or something.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!