Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Insert generic entry title here, on account of I just don't feel like thinking one up

2003-09-26 - 6:02 p.m.

Disclaimer

I�m searching my brain for a word, and coming up blank. Considering the fact that it is fashionable to refer to oneself as a �geek,� �nerd,� or �dork� when one really wishes to present oneself as being intelligent and cool, what is the appropriate word to use when one is, in fact, doing something clearly uncool and wishes to convey awareness of that fact? Can anyone help me out here?

Anyway, I did something decidedly not-cool that nevertheless left me giddy with happiness all day Thursday... I purchased a rolling backpack! And not the cool, all black, business-major suitcase model either�oh no. I got me the $10.99 special at the Jewel, the one that looks like a junior-high backpack but with a handle growing out of its head. You could hear me coming a mile away at school on Thursday, dragging that thing along behind me, my wheels roaring along the blacktop, purring along the tiled hallways, zooooting over the textured mats in the entryways... but oh, were my shoulders thanking me. My shoulders love me so much they want to give me multiple orgasms, if only they could figure out how.

Wednesday had sucked ass, as far as... well, everything actually. I woke up Wednesday morning to figure up our bills because I planned to keep the car and go shopping at Aldi�s after school, but a quick going-over of the numbers revealed the one flaw in that little plan, that being that Aldi does not have a Food-for-Blowjobs plan currently in place. Coming face to face with the true depths of our poverty did not set a very good tone for the day, and my mood was not enhanced any by the fact that, once I got myself all loaded up with my shit for school, I could barely walk under the weight of an overstuffed backpack, an equally-heavy satchel, a hefty purse, my lunch, a bag full of library books, another bag full of old textbooks to hopefully return for cash, and two oversize drawing pads encased in plastic garbage bags (because I am a class act all the way.)

So the Prince took me to school. I was ten minutes late to drawing class, I did NOT enjoy spending an hour drawing a crumpled-up paper towel with my left hand, my lunch of fruit and cheese kept me full for all of about 20 minutes, and my afternoon teacher lectured for two fucking hours straight on stuff I already know like the back of my hand. I was starving and sleepy and desperately in need of some sugar and caffeine and a PISS, and she didn�t even offer us a break during the lecture from hell, just droned on and on and on while I sat there alternately fuming and nodding off. And then... and THEN... the bookstore would only buy back one of my textbooks and only for $3, so I wound up having to carry them all back home with me again. On the bus. And then half a mile walking home, in the rain.

Wednesday just sucked ass. Hard. Until the evening, when I stopped by the Jewel to spend a couple of bucks we didn�t have, and spied the much-coveted rolling backpack on sale. I picked it up, did a little dance in the aisle with it (at which point the Evil Childe hurriedly took off for parts unknown) and proceeded to spend a small chunk of our bill-paying money to make that little bitch mine.

Thursday was like the sun breaking through the clouds. No, seriously. It stopped raining and it was a really pretty day, kinda cold, but then I like it like that. I had the Prince take me to school again, just because I could, and I loved my new backpack so much that I think I trotted noisily around the campus just a little bit more than was necessary, just because I had an hour to kill and it was a pretty day and I felt so light and unencumbered and free! Tra-la!

I wasn�t really looking forward to my first class though. First day with the Ramblin� Man, the guy whose all-over-the-place lecture style drove me so nuts last quarter. But his intro to the course actually made it sound pretty cool. In addition to learning about process color, he plans to throw in a bunch of info about the industry, about the types of jobs that are out there, and salary info, and the general culture of the printing industry. We�re supposed to go on two industry tours which sounds like fun to me, and we�ve even got a real research paper to do on some subject pertaining to color, which I am just dorky enough to be excited about! (Note the use of the self-deprecating horn-toot. See how cool I can be if I try?)

Maybe it won't be so bad. Last quarter was his first time teaching a five-week accelerated version of the course I took, and he seemed genuinely surprised that so many of us were having trouble keeping up. So I�m hoping that maybe his teaching style is better suited to this full-length course. I hope so, because it would make my life so much easier if I only hated half my teachers instead of three out of four.

Ooooo... I have to interrupt myself for a minute, as I just noticed the Trader Joe�s ad for Purple Moon Merlot and Shiraz. Could this be decent wine, at only $3.99 a bottle? Because I want some, just because the name is so cool. And I want some imported Gouda cheese, and some roasted red pepper hummus, and ooooo... some Chocolate Ganache Torte!!

Of course, what I�m actually having is a small bowl of the mexican-style spaghetti-crap I threw together the other day, which is ok but just not exactly what I was hungry for, ya know what I mean? It sucks being broke. Seriously. I need to stop looking at sale ads.

But back to Thursday...

Eh, I�ve lost my momentum on this entry. I�ll just say this one thing regarding my afternoon class on Thursday, and then I�m out of here:

I know that every teacher has to start somewhere, and SOME class is gonna have to be his or her very first. But I think that the students in that class, whose education and grade point average are riding on the teaching skill of this blithering newbie idiot, ought to get their tuition for that class cut to half-price to make up for the reduction in quality. (I predict many rants about my web design class in the future.)

Happy Weekend!








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!