Newest - Older - From Before - About - Cast - Rings - E-Mail Me - Guestbook - Notes



Can't sleep, might as well bitch

2004-03-23 - 4:16 a.m.

Disclaimer

I finally get rid of my hillbilly hair, and now my hillbilly teeth are killing me.

This baffles me. When I was a kid, the toothpaste commercials used to always talk about childhood as being "the cavity-prone years" as if once you reached the age of 18 or so all your tooth-related worries would be over. This is apparently bullshit.

I hardly ever got cavities as a kid, even though I was fairly casual about dental hygiene, brushing once a day, never flossing EVER and only going to the dentist whenever my dad dragged me there kicking and screaming. After my parents divorced and my dad moved out, he still tried to get me to go but from the age of 14 on, I refused. I didn't go back until I was 26, and at that time was found to have only one tiny cavity.

I've taken much better care of my teeth since then. Well, ok, not MUCH better... I still usually only brush once a day, but I floss obsessively. And I drink much less soda than I did as a kid. And for awhile at least, I showed up at the dentist every couple of years, although somehow a four-year stretch of no dental visits has passed me by at this point in time.

And now two of my main chewing molors are crap, one on either side, and the list of foods I can eat without pain is growing smaller and smaller, and the throbbing in my jaw for the past two days is making it difficult to sleep. It doesn't help matters any that I tend to clench my teeth when I sleep.

No dental insurance to speak of either.

Seems as if the ibuprofen has finally kicked in. Maybe I can get back to sleep for a bit.








0 felt the need to share

Previous - Next

Last Five
Crappy job crap, weird neighbor, and someone whose baby I apparently want to have - 2006-05-08
Live from the dump - 2006-04-09
Kind of like a muzzle for your brain - 2006-03-29
...and then she fell ass-first into my cereal bowl - 2006-03-28
Playing catch-up - 2006-03-27





The WeatherPixie

Designed by So-Charming.
Technical assistance provided by The Prince.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!